Proverbs 12:1

“Whoever loves discipline loves knowledge, but he who hates correction is stupid.”

Discipline takes practice: practice in delivering it and practice in receiving it.  Add fatigue, busy schedules and adult and toddler orneriness and it is tempting to want to compromise discipline – both in giving it righteously and receiving it righteously.  But opposing it is, well, God says, stupid.  There are lots of things I could think and label as stupid, but  hating correction was not tops on my brain.  I can’t say I always embrace correction.  So, it should come as no shocker that when recently disciplined our spunky toddler responded with “I don’t like you.”  Well, that is a sentiment I can empathize with.  A lot of times I don’t like it when I am corrected either.  But it sure doesn’t help to stay wrong. 

Staying wrong, well that’s just stupid 🙂

