Every parent can relate to a bewitching hour. Maybe its early in the morning, or right before bedtime, or for me, right when I get in from work.  Of course, it is a tremendous blessing to come home to little ones, one I asked for, and am honored and humbled  to be entrusted with.   Employment, too, is a good thing, one I asked for, that should not be taken for granted.  It’s still okay for my brain to find the early evening mental dichotomy challenging: the office is behind me, rapid fire, fireball enthusiasm of a pre-schooler before me: MOMMY! LETS PLAY! GET THE GLUE! LETS MAKE SOMETHING SPARKLY, LETS BUILD, PICK A GAME! GO! GO! GO!

Sometimes I pull off the Mary Poppins effect where I float in, energized, with endless fun ideas.  Sometimes I am tired and want to put on pjs and go to the bathroom and stare at the wallpaper and think “oh, wallpaper.” For those moments, oh how I long for a magical pixie dust that could instantaneously rejuvenate, make me exceed mere human limitations of fatigue, and allow responsibility to momentarily fade to the background.  (“Magical pixie dust mommy is fun ALL the time.”)   But no such thing exists.  But there is always a way out. Satan works hard to distance our hearts and brains from applying the scriptures practically.  Sometimes we think we have to be in the midst of a crisis for the scriptures to relate, counsel, encourage.  God is faithful that His Word helps us each minute of every day, thru big and little victories and perceived defeats.  And remember, we are not alone.   There are probably a million working parents worldwide who can relate to the “mmm, hibernate in bed or pull out the legos” debate.

There is no magical pixie dust, but there is a faithful Love who provides a way out, eager to help us not only endure, but find joy in the bewitching hour.

1 Corinthians 10:13
No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.

