Much like thousands of working parents, everyday, I wake up with my brain clicking through the “must-dos:” finish packing lunches to stay within household budget, start on dinner so tonight isn’t so rushed, cycle the laundry so we don’t have that “swamp thing” smell happening, lay out activities and items needed for the kids, and while I physically get ready to go into work, my brain is 2 steps ahead: the document that needs writing upon walking in, the items requiring urgent follow up, calls to return, and oh, yea, don’t forgot the doctors appointment. All of these are wonderful, worthwhile, beneficial, needed activities….his isn’t a whiney diatribe of how to get it all done in a day. Realistically, it will either get done or it won’t. But there are two things that remain up for grabs – depending on how else my brain works. They are me and God. This morning I had to physically, out loud say “PAUSE.” I couldn’t stand the thought of plowing through anymore activity without some rich time of slowing down to know Him.

I didn’t have some mind-blowing study, nor did the mountains quake upon the conclusion of my prayer. However, I have a better shot of entering work calm and joyful as opposed to speeding in on two tires, muttering un-pleasentries under my breath. I have assurance and joy and peace and to anyone with a lot going on, those are priceless.

I was blessed last night to spend an hour with a treasured friend. She too, a working mom, had exactly one hour. We spilled our guts, encouraged, and prayed for 60 minutes. She shared that when her schedule gets busy, she knows better than to retreat into her bubble alone, she knows to bring God, it is the lesson to keep others with her that she continually learns. I thought, how true! As we mature as Christians, we understand that, when we do not rely on God, we are one hot mess away from disaster. Yet, we quickly forget that mindfulness and activity with others, should not slip from the priority list. Jesus gives us life to the full, to have life to the full, not life with excuses. The calling is to stay near to God, stay near to others, and in the process, we help those around us, even if but a little bit at a time, to know Him.

Its Wednesday, and several across the country will be attending a midweek service to uplift and encourage. Some of us will make it, some of us will be fulfilling other commitments. Regardless of whether we are there physically, let our hearts focus on one another and the words in Ephesians 1:17:

“I keep asking that the God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the glorious Father, may give you the Spirit of wisdom and revelation, so that you may know him better.”

