Do everything without grumbling or arguing – Philippians 2:14

We had a new experience today.  We put our 9 month old in time out.  Yep, time out before he even talks.

That’s the difference between kid #1 and kid #2.

With kid #1, I approached discipline all doe-eyed and unsure.  I read it was a good idea and people I trusted suggested it, but I didn’t really get it, at first.

With kid #2, we’re a little bit more beaten down  or tired or wiser – or something 🙂

Our baby #2, who is predominantly sweet, chubby, affectionate, and cherub-like, is experimenting with a new tactic – extremely loud hollering and screaming when he wants something.    And it’s not one of those “I am hurting, or uncomfortable,  or fussing with a legitimate need” holler.  It is a “I will complain loudly” situation.

For about half a second,  I battled with my husband’s suggestion for the time out.

Under our watchful eye, our baby logged some high chair time in the corner.   That’s where grumblers go.  We go to the corner until we find our happy, grateful hearts.  And then we fill those hearts with love and affection and goofy joy.

I think it was  good starting point for our son today.  And more importantly, a really good reminder to his Mom:

“Do everything without grumbling or arguing,  so that you may become blameless and pure, “children of God without fault in a warped and crooked generation.”[a] Then you will shine among them like stars in the sky 16 as you hold firmly to the word of life.”

 

