Typically, I am not a sappy person.  But,  there are always exceptions, and for me, it comes when I drop off and pick up the kids at daycare.  I am a bit of a mushy mom.  One thing I’ve always felt important,  is to err on the side of extra goofy, “over the top” love at drop off and pick up times.
Sometimes, I get amused looks.
At morning drop off, I always make a point to walk into the classroom with my 3 year old daughter, hang up her coat and bag, and get her bearings.   We affirm how we will try and make it a great day, and seal the deal with a big hug and kiss.  Sometimes it all goes according to plan, and sometimes I express my love amidst a pre-K meltdown, but I think the consistency is important.  (Our second, still a baby, goes smoothly as he typically gives me one of those “I’m good as long as someone feeds me” looks. )
My favorite ending to a work day is the massive wave of excitement that little kids get upon seeing parents.  Taking the lead from my kid, I have always tried to make a BIG deal at pick up.  Upon seeing each other, I pick up my pace until I meet her, drop down to her eye level and give her a big greeting, hug, and kiss.  Then we walk through her classroom and look at what she colored that day and what she is bringing home.  I stop and chat with the remaining kids waiting.  I don’t know why, I guess I have a secret mission in life to make sure the kids who leave daycare last feel awesome.
I hadn’t really thought much about my routines until recently when I was in the classroom when another child was dropped in.  The child stood outside the classroom door, a bit bewildered by the whirlwind “kiss and run.”  I had to stop myself from hugging her, putting my arm around her, and ushering her in.  My inner dialog kicked in with the helpful reminder that “since that is totally not your 3 year old, maybe don’t do that.”
I know, sappy right?  I just hate to see a kid plunked in.    In my opinion, those are 5-10 minutes that require a parent’s undivided attention.
I’m not sure  where my convictions on this come from.  I am confident that these little investments in time will pay off in the future.  And in the present, I am encouraged to see what other areas of parenting I can explore.  How else can I spend 5-10 minutes each day to be a loving mom?  Can I dedicate  5-10 minutes more in prayer for my kids?
So, I’ll be considering this while I have some down time this Holiday season.
For now, each morning’s departure, and each evening’s reunion is a little bit of a party in our world.   Bring on the goofy, extra love.
Related Resources:
Parenting is no easy gig.  I am excited to help promote a new, upcoming book called “Praying for Boys: Asking God for the Things They Need Most” by Brooke McGlothin.   See more at: https://www.facebook.com/TheMobSociety and
