Working Mom Wednesday, I’m going to give a shout out to working moms each Wednesday  – a little love hurrah and prayer for all those mothering, whether inside the home fulltime, and/or those combining kiddo raising with outside the home work.

Parenting is hard, sweet labor.  I often wonder if working outside the home with kids, while continually exhausting, is easier than working inside the home full time.  In outside pursuits, there are often measurable, quantifiable goals and results.  At work, I relish my “to-do list,” I make it and check it twice, and love to cross stuff off.  It directs me in the morning, guides me through the day, and goes away at quitting time.  It is a beautiful thing.  At home, at some point in having a toddler and infant a couple of years ago, I banned the to do list from my at home vocabulary.  Little people needs always took precedence, so what was the use?

Sure, having kids is gratifying, but there are so many little moments throughout the day where you can’t help but wonder if these little pockets of time, some harder than others, are really ever going to amount to anything fruitful?  And we have to bow our heads and look to the One who created parenting in the first place and trust that our delight in Him is more powerful then our need to feel a sense of accomplishment and result.  It is a place of quiet trust, and one that is not often easy to achieve.

Father in Heaven,

Thank you for these little beings that keep me on my toes.  Thank you for the blessing of people who love them and do fun things with them while I am work.  Please help me to enjoy the boundary lines you have drawn for me, those that are physical and those that are emotional and spiritual.   I pray that our household is pleasant and our Spirits reflect you. Help me to put my time into delighting in you and direct my desires to align with yours, for my assurance to come from you, and time spent reading and talking with you; to not look to a sense of parenting accomplishment or measuring humanistic effort to bolster my confidence in motherhood.  My help comes from you and you are endlessly generous.  Lord, the best return of investment comes when my eyes look to you.  In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

“Take delight in the LORD, and he will give you the desires of your heart.”  Psalm 37:4

The boundary lines have fallen for me in pleasant places; surely I have a delightful inheritance.

I will praise the Lord, who counsels me; even at night my heart instructs me.”  Psalm 16:6-7

