There is a phrase that is playing on repeat in my brain: “God of all Comfort.” It runs through my head as I drop off our 2 year old at daycare and I hear him crying and causing great haulla-ba-loo.  He loves his teachers, and I have full confidence in his care, and yet he hollers for me.  Even for the veteran working mom, it is hard to shake that off.    So, I go to the God of all comfort.  And it happens when I catch random tidbits throughout the day of current events and there are people dying on the other side of the world and I have no idea of how to help.  Especially the children, maimed and tortured, and left to be.  I have a pit in my stomach and I mentally lurch.  So, I go to the God of all comfort.  And then it is evening and I am making dinner and keeping the scissors away from the 2 year old and telling him to stop eating the dog food, and stop sucking on paper clips, and our five year old wants to eat Smores in bed (who does that?) and, so, I go to the God of all comfort.  And a close friend’s father passes away and her heart is forever changed and I would give a million bucks to hug her, but she lives in another part of the country and I only see her every few years.  So, I go to the God of all comfort.  I glance at Facebook and Lord, just be with all of Facebook.  And then, a deposit didn’t come in, and there is a notice in the mail that the insurance company inadvertently dropped one of the children from the plan and they will need supporting documents of the birth in order to reinstate the policy. I think about who I need to go to, and waiver, does God care about that?  He doesn’t exactly have to deal with Blue Cross Blue Shield customer service reps in Heaven, you know?

And I choose to take God as His word – all means all.  Whether trivial or seemingly petty, or literally earth shattering, He is the God of all comfort.  On the days when I am able to pray in reverent stillness, all means all, and on the days that seem to move at warp speed and stillness is next to impossible, all means all.  God’s goodness and ability to comfort is not limited or conditional.  He is: The God of all Comfort.

And He does not comfort in a vacuum. His mercies flow to us to calm and pacify, and  to empower us to reflect that comfort to ease the pain of others.  God is fruitful in that way, even when our hearts hurt.   In all ways.

Father in Heaven,

Blessed be you! Thank you for being the Father of mercies and the God of all comfort, you comfort us in all our affliction, whether those trials seem small or large, significant, or silly, you do not discriminate.  You comfort us so that we can return and reflect that comfort to others on your behalf.  Thank you for caring, God, and for wanting to comfort.  Satan wants us to think that your comfort is the last thing available to us. Lead us in your truth.  In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

“Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies and God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our affliction so that we will be able to comfort those who are in any affliction with the comfort with which we ourselves are comforted by God.” 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

