Father

Obedience

Repentance

Grace

Individuality

Valuable

Empowered

Now

This weekend there will be lots of celebrations related to the 4th Holiday.  I keep thinking very celebratory about one aspect of my faith in particular: that a relationship with God = forgiveness.  Now, that is a reason to party!  Just for fun, I wrote out “forgiven” and did a little word association.  I can now think of God as a Heavenly Father, with a new heart and strength to Obey His Word.  Before becoming a Christian, I thought of God as more of a serious Santa Claus figure who had a bunch of rules that I didn’t much feel like following.  And now, in his love, I have a continual opportunity for Repentance, Grace, and to grow into the woman He envisions for me, all my Individual quirkiness and all.  I used to think Christians were an incredibly boring lot who all did the same things, all fit a same mold.  It has been so good to be wrong.  I no longer have to seek Value in what I accomplish, I have value in belonging to Him, a product of His almighty creating.  I got a rejection slip today on a piece of writing.  Truth be told, I did have a three year old  moment where (in my head of course), I signed dramatically and replied “I shall never write again!” and then I told myself hush and laughed it off and started writing. I had to remember that my value lies only in the acceptance of Him.  (My husband, on the other hand was most supportive, told me that he was sorry, and then congratulated me because that is how a lot of greatest begins – with rejection. :0 )  In Christ, we have a unique opportunity to find Empowerment in the most miraculous of sources, and we need only to seek, we don’t have to do anything else.  Now, I am loved, and am grateful, and embrace the goodness in his blood that continually washes me clean.

There will be fireworks and hoopla and all kinds of festivities.  There will be references to freedom and the dreams of our forefathers had at the birth of the USA.  I pray I remember to take a moment and light a sparkler for Him, who grants us a freedom to dream about a citizenship even more powerful and poignant.

Father,

Thank you for the freedom and forgiveness we find in you.  Thank you for continually helping us to obey you, empowering us, granting us grace and repentance, for helping us grow into your individual dreams and visions for us, for never losing value in us, even when we mess up and miss the mark.  Your graciousness is remarkable, and we take a quiet moment to bow our heads in reverence and thanksgiving for you. Regardless of our plans this weekend, help us to smile at your promise that our true citizenship lies with you.  In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

“But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ,” Philippians 3:20

