Dear Single Mom:

We have a couch that looked a lot more comfortable in the furniture store than it is in reality.  The problem is the cushions move at the most inopportune time, inevitably leaving someone in the crack.  Just tonight amidst some cuddling, I heard a little voice, “Mommy, I’m in the crack. Can you help me out?”  I know that feeling well, except I don’t ask for help out of the cracks of life so sweetly.  Especially when I am overtired, I want to whine and cry and maybe have a tantrum (just to be honest).  Single Moms, I’m willing to bet you may feel stuck in the crack a lot.  Not because of anything you lack personally, but because parenting is really hard without a “tagging out” buddy.  Tonight, I pray for your extra bit of energy, your extra bit of comfort, and your extra bit of strength and intuition to ask for help  when you feel stuck in the crack.  I don’t write this to minimize your trial or heart ache or challenge, but I do take comfort from examples in the scripture where great fruit follows great discomfort.  Jesus’s mere words brought discomfort, and later his actions brought salvation to an entire race.  Those with him, uncomfortable, had no idea of the beautiful big picture.  I won’t sugar coat it, the crack pretty much sucks.  Lord, helps us to remember the big picture.

Eventually, Dear Sisters, the cushions will smoosh back and you’ll be out of the crack.   The fruit of your trials will come to light.  And I am praying for you.

Father in Heaven,

Thank you for healing and comforting and supporting during the in-between, stuck in the crack, uncomfortable times.   Even when life physically feels out of sorts, we pray for hearts that trust you.  Thank you for the daily example of Jesus – of how he endured discomfort and ultimately brought the world a reconciled relationship with you.  In Jesus name, Amen.

“Jesus left there and went to his hometown, accompanied by his disciples. When the Sabbath came, he began to teach in the synagogue, and many who heard him were amazed.

“Where did this man get these things?” they asked. “What’s this wisdom that has been given him? What are these remarkable miracles he is performing? Isn’t this the carpenter? Isn’t this Mary’s son and the brother of James, Joseph, Judas and Simon? Aren’t his sisters here with us?” And they took offense at him.” Mark 6:1-3

