The other night I sighed contentedly, I had pulled off the seemingly impossible task of spending quality time with each kid, both in the same night.  The planets and stars had aligned and I felt fulfilled in that for a few magical moments I had simply and purely enjoyed their existence: their giggling observations, their cuddles, their questions and comments and laughter, even the way the fan made their little blonde hairs go wispy.

I brushed my teeth and uttered a short prayer of thanksgiving of simply being with them.  And then God whispered it to me: “that’s how I feel about you! It makes me happy to spend time with you.”   Um, really? How easily I forget how pure and simple His devotion and delight in me!  God doesn’t measure the quality of time with me based on what I get out of it, (ie: earth shattering conviction, mountain moving prayers), He just wants to be with me.

And then, because I am kind of quirky, I bust out in the early 90’s song by Mr. Big: “To Be With You.”  I will spare you the entire song – but it is catchy!  (I may also dare you to go listen to it, because you will be singing it for the rest of the week.)

I used to sing this power ballad as a pre-teen pretending to be filled with pre-teen angst, assured that I knew just what the big, wide world offered and how to handle it. (Not!).

The chorus echoes “I’m the one that wants to be with you….”   I savor these words in simple prayer that this is how God feels about us.  And He doesn’t have to work to get this feeling, He doesn’t have to go to his happy place to remember how much He loves me.  Even as I work through my issues of frustration with our two year old who at times doesn’t just push the buttons but STANDS on them, God still just wants to be with me.   Grace is so powerful.  He simply delights in the every moment, big and small that we are together.  And he feels that way about you, as well, dear one.    He serenades you way more deeply than Mr. Big could.  In other words, Mr. Big can’t touch this. (Uh oh, I may have an upcoming blog post on Hammer time! :))

Father in Heaven,

Thank you for quieting me with your song.  Thank you for simply delighting in us, we need not do anything to have to earn your devotion.  You don’t have to work to love, you simply are, and simply just want to be with us. What an incredible gift.   In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

“The LORD your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in his love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing.”  Zephaniah 3:17

