Dear Single Mom:

Where we live, officially, today, we are back to school.  It means new school clothes and new school supplies in the midst of balmy 95 degree weather, and the standard passel of new school year paperwork.  There are forms – lots of forms.   Rightfully so, the school system needs to know who are approved dismissal people, and contact information in case of emergency and who to reach to simply connect between the home front and the school front.  I don’t mind them, really I don’t, but I did take some time to pray for you, my Dears.  I pray that you do not feel overwhelmed when it is your turn to fill out the forms and you consistently write you.  You are the POC (point of contact), you = the sole communicator, you are the authoritarian, and the playmate, and nurturer, and the financial provider.  You.

Single Mom, when you fill out those forms, you are enough.  It must be daunting.  God is with you.  I pray this for you – I remind myself that God is bigger.  Every time I think of you, and I want to think positively, and I falter and want to add a contingency, a reason to falter in faith, a reason to add a “But” to God’s greatness, I switch to “but God is bigger.”

Dear Single Mom to a special needs child: can I pray very specifically for you right now? Lord knows, you have so many forms.  And on each of them, you are enough, God is bigger.  I am fervently praying this for you, right now, these coming days, these coming weeks, this entire school year.  God is bigger. His words are flawless: “Every word of God is flawless; he is a shield to those who take refuge in him” (Proverbs 30:5).  He is your advocate for you, and for your child.

Father in Heaven,

Thank you for tirelessly advocating for Single Moms and their children.  Thank you for tirelessly providing your flawless words as their shield.  Please, let us choose to take refuge in your words.  It is a constant battle to take refuge in them, or not, to wholeheartedly embrace that you are bigger, or not.  Thank you for being faithful to all of your promises.  Please encourage Single Moms today, this week, and give them an encouraging start to the school year.  In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

“Your kingdom is an everlasting kingdom, and your dominion endures through all generations. The Lord is trustworthy in all he promises and faithful in all he does.”  Psalm 145:13

“Every word of God is flawless; he is a shield to those who take refuge in him.” Proverbs 30:5

