“Put your outdoor work in order and get your fields ready; after that, build your house.” Proverbs 24:27

Okay, fair enough, it is only day 3; however I am a motivated momma to make this school year mornings far more peaceful than last.  Turns out, I do not make a good, nor do I enjoy, drill sergeant.  My kids are highly sensitive to yelling and instead of actually picking up the pace, they shut down. (Probably God’s way of telling me to not incorporate yelling into my parenting?! :))

My approach this year has started with reexamining my priorities and doing less in the mornings. I’m allotted 10 to no more than 15 minutes of housework in  the morning.  Just a little tad to get the blood flowing.  Then it is read, pray, get myself ready, get the kids ready with the singular purpose and priority of daycare, school, work destinations.  Last year I tried to cram way too much in too short a time.  Silly woman.  It frustrated me every time.  (Why did it take me a year to learn that?)  Why do I still sometimes think in desperation that I am an exception to the rule of how time works?  It stood still in the Bible….it does not for me simply because I have small children and places to be.  With God’s help, I will find my footing and with great grace, we will settle into this new routine.

Father in Heaven,

Thank you for giving us the guide and blue print of your Bible, and for the subtle and not so subtle ways you allow it to come to life for us.  Please help working moms throughout the world with the working mom morning juggle.  Be with them with refreshed spirit and mind, help them to prioritize and execute excellently, filled with your Holy Spirit, their lives reflecting brightly your mighty love.  In Jesus name I pray, Amen.

