“For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you. We continually ask God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives, so that you may live a life worthy of the Lord and please him in every way: bearing fruit in every good work, growing in the knowledge of God,  being strengthened with all power according to his glorious might so that you may have great endurance and patience, and giving joyful thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of his holy people in the kingdom of light.” Colossians 1:9-12.

This is going to be one of my “go-to” scriptures for parenting.  To remember a simple truth – God did not bless me with little beings for the immeasurable challenges or to highlight any short comings – He is giving me the opportunity to participate in the “raising-up-in-love-process.”  Lord, help me to be patient in learning this process! I need to continually ask God to fill me with the knowledge of his will through all the wisdom and understanding that the Spirit gives to truly raise up in love this little toddler boy that I truly just do not understand sometimes.  God wants to strengthen with ALL POWER ACCORDING TO HIS GLORIOUS MIGHT SO THAT I MAY HAVE GREAT ENDURANCE AND PATIENCE, and while I learn this and experience this, never to forget to give joyful thanks to the Father, who has qualified – called me -and said I can do this – to share in the inheritance of His holy people!  

Father, thank you for this encouraging cup of cheer.  I eagerly anticipate the process of being filled with the knowledge of your will through your wisdom and understanding.  Less of me, more of you filling my heart and mind to parent sounds REALLY good, Lord.  Thank you for calling and qualifying parents.  Thank you for the reminder to also be filled with joyful thanksgiving – at all times, and not just when our parenting is met with compliance 🙂 I love you God, and your ever-present patience.  In Jesus Name I pray, Amen.

